August Corral

A round-up day of first-year calves and their mothers. This was drawn from a photo I took a few years back when up at the Montana ranch. I helped some of these heifers deliver their calves the winter before. In shepherding the cattle we all learned to get on pretty well, the cattle and I- so I did this image in a Franz Mark style. He also painted animals because he felt a strong connection with them, and found them to be more inspirational than people, as they are always true to their nature.
I started this a few years back and had it nearly completed, when I suddenly became convinced that it was terrible and that I was waisting my time on it. I rediscovered it lately and figured I’d give it an afternoon’s attention. It came together quickly- once I had a few years away from it…

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

