H5N1: Centaur Polish

The series of Centaur Chickens is now my H5N1 series, in honor of the
Chinese gvmt’s admission yesterday of the virus jumping from human to
human.This is no surprise to the WHO, or to the viral community- who have mutated through thousands of generations since I first created this hen.
I created her last spring in my plaster figure spasm, and had some issues with her figure mold beginning to collapse (rubber molds will deteriorate over time) creating weird areas. I thought I’d move on to other things and repair her later- and later became now, a year later. I brought her out of the basement and looked at her anomalies,and determined a triage plan. I ripped down with files and built back in with plaster, and she lived through it all. I painted her a bit differently- and she came out with a stronger metallic sheen than the past few painted forms. I used two layers of thin washed color (vs 1 heavier layer) over the opaque base layer of stainless steel- the stainless steel paint is a craft paint that has real stainless steel suspended in acrylic. The result is a complex French Brown patina.
This hen is a mix of a Polish Chicken, a breed kept as lawn ornamentation that are nervous critters as their vision is impaired by the pom-pom. She also has a V-Comb, which has a nice devil-horn quality. The female form was sculpted from a 24 year old model who posed back in my MFA process (hence the mold being old enough to begin to slump).

Media_httpa7voxcom6a0_cebff
Media_httpa7voxcom6a0_igydh
Media_httpa4voxcom6a0_ehtyy
Media_httpa5voxcom6a0_hfabf

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

