Blobs to Dogs

Carving day! A long Ginsu Knife is the tool du jour for slicing the foam back. The trick is to carve back just a bit smaller, allowing for the layer of plastecine clay. The closer I get it now, the thinner the clay layer needs to be- which takes quite awhile to lay up. (I should really make myself another clay oven to preheat & soften the clay. My last little oven bit the dust on the move back from Kansas. Just a foam-core box with a heat lamp…)

It was quick paced day- got to keep moving and cutting and spinning the work, measuring with calipers & rulers. I also use bamboo skewers to establish key directions and anatomical points. I left a few in for the pictures- shishkadogs or acupoocher or just a corndog.

Leave a Reply

