Selene Again

Alabaster Selene gets more fidgits, and may finally be done. The first set of images shows her in the round, and the second set shows details of veining in the stone complementing her anatomy.

16
18
3
5
7
8
9
10
12
14
1
0
3
2
4
5
6
9
7
8

I began this figure at my father’s Montana Angus ranch, helping out with the calving back in 1998 after I had left my career as a public high school art teacher. I worked outside on an old cable spool during the few hours of sub-zero daylight, and brought it in by the fire at night…not the best way to establish a form.I finished it out as well as I could, but planned to come back to it during my MFA. As it turned out I didn’t get back to it til this past spring. For the past decade she has stood in various corners, nagging at me with her pelvic distortions and many other awkward areas.

In re-working her I had to be careful and work many areas at once to bring harmony to her anatomically dissonant areas without compromising her essential strengths.

Leave a Reply

