Load Check

Granite Loaded

The granite fit into the dumper for the first time since adding the T-bar. In my geometric imagination it all worked fine, but it is nice when reality matches. The next Check is to remove all the stone, put the two sculptures back on the slate, and reload the stone plus add twenty pounds of sandbags to the Slurry Spreader.

The last image shows the run of steel across the surface of the slate that holds the sculpture in place, and its removable aspect. Also pictured are two newly added runs of narrow gauge rod that stabilize the slate. The cart tips back & forth on its small wheels, and the heavy slab of slate amplifies the cart’s action. Add to that the unloaded sculptures and the I-Beam showed some flex when banging the cart over the lip from the garage to the driveway. To ensure that there is never any problem I added the two runs of rod. These have a minimal footprint, yet stabilize the entire form and ensure that the weight transfers to the I-beam without flexation.

Granite Textured

I picked up an air hammer awhile back, but never got around to fitting out it’s air connection as I am usually carving alabaster and rough the forms out by hand. After fruitlessly banging a cold-chisel against the granite, I was ready to head out and buy the connections for the air hammer- first I scrounged around a bit (re-scrounged, as I had already tried to connect the hammer weeks before) and this time finally found the parts! The granite wore down an air chisel in seconds- ratatatbbrrrrt…gone. I dialed back the stroke and put in a short single-point. That did it. I had to be careful, as although the stones are very hard, they are also brittle and tend to snap in half rather than let an edge trim off.

String Theory

1 comment
  1. Brad Sweet said:

    Dan,
    sorry I haven’t been by to see everything in person. Too many balls int he air. The weathered look is great. I am interested to understand more about the lay down vehicle and how you go from block “Granite” to refined surface placement. I mean, Intermountain Slurry Seal is kind of a detailed surface application company and how mentally we can get the viewers to integrate the abstract of the lay down machine to what our sister company actually does. I think the plan to crush the product and so called “stock pile” the seperated crushed material into the lay down vehicle is great. I’d like to incorporate a more unconfined feel to the crushed material. Is that possible? give me a call 8018316001

Leave a Reply

