Stolen: Orpheus & Eurydice

oe-orpheus-and-eurydice

Orphues & Eurydice: Fugue

This was my first public commission.

http://dangerhart.com/71555/618192/public-art/orpheus-eurydice

The curator of modern art at the UMFA (Mary Francey) recommended me to the donor (Marcia Price  and the Price Family Foundation) and the client (Utah Symphony & Opera); they liked the aesthetic of my uniquely cast bronze figurative work so much they gave full creative freedom- partly because all parties involved were deeply grounded in the arts and knew that creative work takes risks and imagination. I sculpted, molded, and cast the work myself over the course of five months. It was a great labor using all of my skills, to bring my unique casting technique up to this scale and gain the unique surfacing of the works. A technique I pioneered and that cannot be replicated in a modern foundry. They were truly unique figures.

I have never had an opportunity since to work in my own aesthetic. It was a rare moment in the arts, and an equally rare moment for my work. Now gone.

2 comments
  1. I’m sure this was to shred them for scrap metal: reduced to less than $500 in junk metal.

Leave a Reply

