New Male Model

IMG_0030 IMG_0031

I’ve started new work with a great male model; he is a ballet dancer and wow. A professional dancer brings a whole other level to the aesthetic. I have three female figures in the works, and haven’t posted much on their process so far. I start working, then it gets dark and the artificial light makes for sallow images so I put it off and put it off. I took a few images of the process with the latest work: First off I measure him for the armature, and do another whole round of measures for the figure- then we work to establish a pose and I take a few rounds of reference photos. Before our next session I build out the wire armature. He is well over 6′ tall, so I had to go to the plumbing store and have them cut me a new longer length of vertical pipe. Once the armature is built, I sculpt from the photos and measurements to have a basic form to work from when the model returns.

IMG_0033 IMG_0035

He stood for me on Sunday for a few hours and the form moved along nicely. He has a wonderful internal dynamism.

Today I pushed along, and formed out a few proportional issues, then gave it a quick once-over to smooth out lumps and clay wash-boarding. This process loses some nice surface information, but provides a better basis for our next session. By then I’ll have some basic forms in place for his hands as well- it has come way too far for exposed wire!

IMG_0040

Leave a Reply

