8 Hours of Fishy Business

IMG_0001

Sandblast tent. I’m in there with a pair of trout. The sandblast needed filled three times. It took about two hours, then two hours to spray it with BC20 for a black etching layer and heat it then scrub it all back.

IMG_0002

E calls this my Dexter Room, when really I’m just seeing how much sand I can pack into the backs of my eyeballs.

IMG_0004

After two hours of scrubbing back the etching layer of BC20, I can start in with heat and cupric nitrate; if you look closely you can see I have the torch in one hand and the spray gun in the other. I haven’t lit the dog on fire yet.

IMG_0009

I thought I’d try hand application of ferric on the hoops for some contrast.

IMG_0006

The blue of the first two single fish started in a bit, then dropped back to a dark green. I’m pretty convinced it is about getting the metal hot enough to fume the tincture without scorching it with the torch. This double monster is tough to get perfectly hot.

IMG_0014

A bit of hand stippling.

IMG_0015

Fussing about. The odd thing with patina is that you don’t know what the color is until the very last step of waxing it, which locks everything in. So I am working with potentials here.

IMG_0016

Just look at those Iris back there, and ignore the art nerd.

IMG_0017

Getting greener…

IMG_0021

The ferric on the stones gives them a nice brown-gold tone.

IMG_0028

Around and around we go, heating not to scorch and never quite getting hot enough for magic blue.

IMG_0029

Flame to the tippy top.

IMG_0025

The stream hoops have flower details on the inside and outside.

IMG_0026

The hand stippling of ferric set the flowers to a rich gold on a chocolate background- or will be tomorrow when I grow a brain and go about making it all work.

Leave a Reply

